Skip to content

Celebrating Design and Professional Excellence in New York State Public Art & Architecture.

AIA New York State, in partnership with the New York State contracting agencies, created the Excelsior Awards in 2014 to provide a model of excellence for state-funded building design, landscape architecture, and public art, including professional practice and advocacy.

2020 Excelsior Award Recipients

Submitting Firm | Dattner Architects

Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing Engineer | Lilker Associates

Civil Engineer | YU & Associates

Structural Engineer | Rodney D. Gibble Consulting Engineers

Lighting Consultant | Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design

Expediting | JM Zoning

Acoustics | Houghton Associates LLC

Landscape Architect | Weintraub Diaz Landscape Architecture

Vertical Circulation | Van Deusen & Associates

Specifications | Construction Specifications

Photo Credit | © Chris Cooper

Submitting Firm | Beardsley Design Associates Architecture, Engineering, Landscape Architecture, D.P.C.

Construction Manager | BCA Architects & Engineers

General Contractor | S.J. Thomas Company, Inc.

Mechanical Contractor | King & King Mechanical, Inc.

Electrical Contractor | Knapp Electric, Inc.

Plumbing Contractor | Brosh Mechanical, Inc.

Landscape Architect | Appel Osborne Landscape Architects

Photo Credit | © John Griebsch

Submitting Firm | Page Ayres Cowley Architecture, LLC

Construction Manager | New York City Department of Design and Construction

General Contractor | SIBA Contracting Corp.

Structural Engineer | Simpson Gumpertz & Heger

Services Engineer | ADS Engineers, DPC
Surveyor | Gallas Surveying Group

Elevator Consultant | Vertical Systems Analysis

Building Code Consultant/Expeditors | Noel Building Consulting, Inc.

Photo Credit | © Ines Leong / L-INES Photo, 2020

Submitting Firm | SWBR

General Contractor | Christa Construction

Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing/Fire Protection Engineer | M/E Engineering

Site/Civil Engineer | Parrone Engineering
Structural Engineer | SWBR

Environmental Engineer | Sustainable Comfort, Inc.

Interior Design | SWBR

Photo Credit | © Park Avenue Photography | Gene Avallone

Submitting Firm | WXY architecture + urban design

General Contractor | NYSOPRHP Long Island Region (Builders)

Mechanical/Electrical Engineer | Stantec Engineering

Civil Engineer | Cashin Associates

Structural Engineer | Stantec Engineering

Landscape Architect | Stantec Engineering

Photo Credit | © Albert Vecerka/Esto

Submitting Firm | Alexander Gorlin Architect LLC

General Contractor | Lettire Construction Corp

Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing Engineer | OLA Consulting Engineers, PC

Civil Engineer | JMC

Structural Engineer | Ysrael A. Seinuk, P.C.
Building Code Consultant/Expeditors | Municipal Building Consultants

Specifications | Specifications Consultant CCS SCIP

Energy Consultants | Steven Winter Associates

Photo Credit | © Eric Petscheck

Submitting Firm | Perkins Eastman DPC

Construction Manager | Sciame Construction

MEP/FP Engineer | Jaros Baum & Bolles Consulting Engineers

Civil/Geotechnical Engineer | Langan

Structural Engineer | WSP

Façade Consultants | WSP Building Enclosure & ALT Cladding Limited

Lighting Consultant | Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design

Theater Consultant | Theater Projects

Landscape Architect | HM White

Vertical Transportation | Van Deusen & Associates

Cost Estimating | Ellana Construction Consultant

Photo Credit | © Andrew Rugge

Submitting Agency | MTA Arts & Design

Program Director | Metropolitan Transportation Authority Construction & Development

Architect | STV

General Contractor | Judlau Contracting Inc.

Artist | Ann Hamilton

Typographic Designer | Hans Cogne

Mosaic Fabricator | Mayer of Munich, Inc.

Architectural Lighting & Design | Domingo Gonzalez Associates

Photo Credit | © CHORUS (2018) © Ann Hamilton, NYCT WTC Cortlandt St Station. Commissioned by Metropolitan Transportation Authority Arts & Design. Photo: Patrick Cashin.

2020 Professional Service Awards

The Professional Awards honor excellence in practice and advocacy of design in NYS public architecture.

Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award 

The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award recognizes public officials or individuals who, through their efforts, have furthered the public’s awareness and/or appreciation of design excellence in public architecture. This award is intended to recognize members of the public who make contributions to architecture. 

“As Executive Director of Strategic Planning, Brendan has guided significant development efforts that the city has enjoyed over the last decade. Brendan’s legal and urban planning expertise has been invaluable in contributing to the re-birth of Buffalo, NY.”

Henry Hobson Richardson Award 

The Henry Hobson Richardson Award recognizes AIA members licensed in NYS and practicing in the private sector who have made a significant contribution to the quality of NYS public architecture and who have established a portfolio of accomplishments to that end. 

“Barbara is a remarkable preservation architect whose efforts have significantly impacted the preservation and continuing viability of New York State’s historic landmarks reviving them with new uses for the public good.”

Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award 

The Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award recognizes licensed architects employed in the public sector in New York State whose work on projects within their jurisdiction has furthered the cause of design excellence in public architecture. 

“Ben Harrison has had a substantial impact on the built environment and creating design excellence within New York State, specifically in Putnam County, for multiple public projects.”

Back To Top