Skip to content

Annually since 1968, AIA New York State’s Annual Design Awards celebrate local, national and international projects that achieve architectural excellence designed by architects throughout New York State.
The Jury spent many hours reviewing submissions and had the challenge of choosing award recipients out of 274 submissions. A record 42 projects were recognized for Citation, Merit and Honor Awards in the following categories: Adaptive Reuse/Historic Preservation, Commercial/Industrial, Institutional, Interiors, International, Pro Bono Projects, Residential, Sole Practitioner, Unbuilt and Urban Planning/Design.

The Design Awards Jury, including Jury Chair Dan Kirby, FAIA, Principal and Client Services Leader for People and Places Solutions at Jacobs; Marilia Rodrigues, AIA, a Principal at Kieran Timberlake; David Burney, FAIA, Co-Founder and Director of the Urban Placemaking and Management program at the Pratt Institute School of Architecture; and Elizabeth Whittaker, AIA, Founder and Principal at MERGE architects had the challenge of choosing a handful of winners out of almost three hundred submissions.

The jury members stated, “We know that this is a long list, but these are deserving recipients from a strong class of submittals that survived considerable scrutiny. This represents the strength and talent of AIA New York State members.”

Out of the 42 award recipients, the jury also selected one project considered to be the “Best of the Best.” This year’s recipient is The TWA Hotel, designed by Beyer Blinder Belle .

Architect: Mitchell Giurgola Architects LLP

Photo Credit: ©Albert Vecerka/Esto

Architect: Architecture AF

Photo Credit: ©Ashok Sinha & Architecture AF

Architecture & Interior Design: CetraRuddy Architecture
Photo Credit: © ESTO/David Sundberg & Adrian Gaut

Architect: Michielli + Wyetzner Architects

Photo Credit: ©Alexander Severin

Architect: BKSK Architects LLP

Owner: Reading International

Photo Credit: ©Christopher Payne/ESTO, BKSK Architects

Design Architect: Bureau V Architecture

Architect-of-Record: SLAB Architecture PLLC

Photo Credit: ©Floto + Warner & Stella Lee

Architect: Urbahn Architects

Historic Resources and Materials Conservation: Jablonski Building Conservation

Photo Credit: ©Ola Wilk

Architects: Marvel Architects, PLLC

Photo Credit: ©David Sundbeg/ESTO & Macro Sea

Architect: Beyer Blinder Belle

Photo Credit: ©Beyer Blinder Belle, Eric Laignel, Kristin LaBruz & David Mitchell

Architect: Studio Gang

Photo Credit: ©Matthew Lapiska & Tom Harris

Architect: Sage and Coombe Architects

Photo Credit: ©Andrew Kao

Architect: Rogers Partners Architects + Urban Designers

Photo Credit: ©Albert Vecerka/Esto

Architect: CannonDesign

Photo Credit: ©Adrien Williams

Architect: Ennead Architects

Architect of Record: SmithGroup

Photo Credit: ©Bruce Damonte & James Haefner

Architect: Marvel Architects

Photo Credit: ©Dero Sanford, Stephen Ironside & Timothy Hursley


Photo Credit: ©James Ewing

Architect: Trahan Architects

Photo Credit: ©Leonid Furmansky

Architect: FXCollaborative Architects LLP

Photo Credit: ©Chris Cooper & FXCollaborative

Architect: LTL Architects

Photo Credit: ©Michael Moran

Architect: Bates Masi + Architects

Architect of Record: SRAA+E

Photo Credit: ©Bates Masi + Architects

Architect: Barker Associates Architecture Office (BAAO Architects)

Architectural Designer: 4|Mativ Design Studio

Photo Credit: ©Lesley Unruh

Architect: Kliment Halsband Architects

Photo Credit: ©Will Boase and Bob Ditty

Architect: Pencil Office

Design Architect: Erik G. L’Heureux FAIA, LEED AP BD+C

Architect of Record:Team Design Architects Pte Ltd

Photo Credit: ©Finbarr Fallon, Ong Chan Hao, Khoo Guo Jie

Architect: O’Neill Rose Architects

Photo Credit: ©Faith Rose

Architect: REID architecture PLLC

Photo Credit: ©Reid Freeman

Architect: Bates Masi + Architects

Photo Credit: ©Bates Masi + Architects

Architect: Barlis Wedlick Architects LLC

Photo Credit: ©Jonny Valiant

Architect: Slade Architecture

Photo Credit: ©Tom Sibley

Architect: Balzer & Tuck Architecture

Photo Credit: ©Scott Bergmann Photography

Architect: Oza Sabbath Architects

Photo Credit: ©Kay Media

Architect: Bates Masi + Architects

Photo Credit: ©Bates Masi + Architects

Architect: ESKW/Architects

Photo Credit: ©David Sundberg/Esto

Architect: SHoP Architects

Photo Credit: ©Gunnar Glueck/flaunt boston

Architect: Handel Architects

Photo Credit: ©Collin Miller, Jonathan Morefield, Lester Ali, QuallsBenson & Handel Architects

Architect: Arch&Type

Photo Credit: ©Kim Smith

Architect: Anderson Design Group Architects and Planners

Photo Credit: ©Jason T. Anderson

Architect: Ten Arquitectos/Enrique Norten with Andrea Steele Architecture/Andrea Steele

Rendering: ©Ten Arquitectos/Enrique Norten with Andrea Steele Architecture/Andrea Steele

Design: Erik L’Heureux, FAIA

Design Firm: School of Design and Environment, National University of Singapore

Architect: CPG Consultants Ptd, Singapore

Photo Credit: ©Erik L’Heureux, Ong Chan Ho,National University of Singapore

Architect: Messana O’Rorke

Photo Credit: ©Messana O’Rorke

Architect: Sage and Coombe Architects

Photo Credit: ©Paul Warchol

Architect: Studio V Architecture

Rendering: ©Studio V Architecture

Architect: DXA Studio & Patrick Cullina Horticulture Design + Consulting

Rendering: ©DXA Studio

Back To Top