Skip to content

Celebrating Design and Professional Excellence in New York State Public Art & Architecture.

AIA New York State, in partnership with the New York State contracting agencies, created the Excelsior Awards in 2014 to provide a model of excellence for state-funded building design, landscape architecture, and public art, including professional practice and advocacy.


We’d Like to Thank Our 2021 Sponsors

2021 Excelsior Award Recipients

Submitting Firm | Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and Empire State Development

General Contractor | Skanksa USA Civil

MEP and FP Engineering, IT and Telecom | Jaros Baum & Bolles

Civil and Geotechnical Engineering | Langan Engineering & Environmental Services

Structural Engineering | Severud Associates

Skylight Structural Engineering | Schlaich Bergermann Partner

Historic Building Restoration | Building Conservation Associates
Photo Credit | © Lucas Blair Simpson © SOM; Lucas Blair Simpson Aaron Fedor © SOM; Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, LC-DIG-ggbain-17144; Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, LC-DIG-ggbain-15004

Submitting Firm | Think Architecture and Design

MEP Engineering | New York Engineers

Site, Civil Engineering | Mclaren Engineering Group

Structural Engineering | Rodney D. Gibble Consulting Engineers

Photo Credit | © Alexander Severin

Submitting Firm | Sage and Coombe Architects

Structural Engineering | Severud Associates

MEP, FP Engineering | JFK&M Consulting Group

Landscape Architecture | MKW and Associates

Civil and Geotechnical Engineering | Langan

Cost Estimating | Toscano Clements Taylor

Contractor | WWC Contracting

Photo Credit | © Alexa Hoyer and Andrew Kao

Submitting Firm | Shop Architects

Structural Engineering | Thornton Tomasetti

Civil Engineering | GHD Group

Mechanical and Plumbing Engineering | ME Engineering

LEED | ME Engineering

Acoustical Engineering | LSTN Consultants

Geotechnical Engineering | John P. Stopen Engineering

Landscape Architecture | Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects

General Contractor | LeChase Construction Services

Photo Credit | © James Ewing / JBSA

Submitting Firm | Mosaic Associates Architects

MEP, Structural, Site & Civil Engineering | CHA Companies

Technology System Design | Engineered Solutions

Specialty Structural Engineering | Spring Line Design

General Constructors | Bette + Cring

Photo Credit | © Randall Perry

Submitting Firm | Dattner Architects

Mechanical and Electrical Engineering | DVL Engineers

Structural Engineering | Ysrael A. Seinuk

Site Engineering | Philip Habib Associates

Landscape Architecture | Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects

Photo Credit | © John Reis Photography and Vanni Archive

Submitting Firm | LaBella Associates

Engineering | LaBella Associates

Civil Engineering and Landscape Architecture | Environmental Design & Research Companies

Contractor | LeChase Construction

Photo Credit | © Don Cochran Photography and Gene Avallone

Submitting Firm | AECOM

Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing, Structural and Communications Engineering |

Tunneling | ARUP/AECOM

Construction Manager | WSP

Photo Credit | © Robb Williamson

Submitting Firm | nARCHITECTS

Landscape Architecture | Starr Whitehouse

MEP and Civil Engineering | FPM Group

Structural Engineering | Silman

Lighting Design | Lumen Architecture

Sustainability Consultant | Terrapin Bright Green

Graphic Design | Tactile

Exhibition Design | Tactile, AJA Architects

Cost Estimating | Ellana

Construction Manager | Elite Construction Company of New York

General Contractor | Scalamandre

Photo Credit | © Michael Moran

Submitting Firm | Jacobschang Architecture

Structural Engineering | Silman

Contractor | SMI Construction Management

Fabricator | Maspeth Welding

Illustrator | Clarisa Diaz at Gothamist     

Photo Credit | © Ryan Lahiff

Illustration | © Clarisa Diaz

2021 Professional Service Awards & Presidential Citation

The Professional Awards honor excellence in practice and advocacy of design in NYS public architecture.

Henry Hobson Richardson Award

The Henry Hobson Richardson Award recognizes AIA members licensed in NYS and practicing in the private sector who have made a significant contribution to the quality of NYS public architecture and who have established a portfolio of accomplishments to that end.

Henry Hobson Richardson Award 

The Henry Hobson Richardson Award recognizes AIA members licensed in NYS and practicing in the private sector who have made a significant contribution to the quality of NYS public architecture and who have established a portfolio of accomplishments to that end. 

Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award 

The Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award recognizes licensed architects employed in the public sector in New York State whose work on projects within their jurisdiction has furthered the cause of design excellence in public architecture. 

Presidential Citation

Illya Azaroff, FAIA, the 2021 AIA New York State President, was honored to present Sandra L. Daigler, AIA, Director of Upstate Planning, Design and Quality Assurance for DASNY with a Presidential Citation for her unwavering commitment and dedication to AIA New York State and the Excelsior Awards program.

“Sandy has been an invaluable leader of the Excelsior Awards Program since its inception. Her strong commitment to design excellence in public architecture is evident in her work with the AIA and DASNY. She is the ideal public architect!”

Kelly Hayes McAlonie, FAIA, Founder, AIANYS Excelsior Awards Program,
Director of Campus Planning, University at Buffalo

Back To Top