Skip to content

Annually since 1968, AIA New York State’s Design Awards celebrate local, national and international projects that achieve architectural excellence designed by architects who are licensed and registered in New York State.

Twenty-five projects were recognized for Citation, Merit, and Honor Awards in the following categories: Adaptive Reuse/Historic Preservation, Commercial/Industrial, Institutional, Interiors, International, Pro Bono Projects, Residential, Small Firms, Unbuilt, and Urban Planning and Design.

The 2023 Design Awards jury was comprised of Jury Chair Kamran Charmsaz, AIA, CCCA, LEED AP, Principal at KTGY; Tim Tielman, Executive Director and a founder of The Campaign for Buffalo History, Architecture & Culture, Co-founder of the Buffalo Central Terminal Restoration Corporation, and Principal of Spatial LLC; Melvalean McLemore, AIA, Senior Associate at Moody Nolan, and one of the first 500 licensed black women in the United States and the 16th in Texas; and Beth Tauke, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, School of Architecture and Planning, University at Buffalo – State University of New York. Peter Arsenault, FAIA, was the facilitator.

Out of the 25 award recipients, the jury also selected one project considered to be the “Best of the Best,” which was revealed at the awards ceremony in December.

Kamran Charmsaz, AIA, the 2023 Design Awards Jury Chair stated, “I am delighted to have encountered such a remarkable array of projects, each possessing outstanding quality that leaves a lasting impact on the community.
The ingenious designs, rooted in a deep respect for sustainability, the natural environment, and cultural context, not only exemplify innovation but also resonate with the dynamic nature of our times.”

AIANYS 2023 President Paul McDonnell, AIA said, “I am invigorated by the innovative solutions New York State architects consistently bring to fruition, creating a significant and positive influence on the communities they engage with. My heartfelt congratulations to all the deserving recipients of our prestigious Design Awards.”

Submitted by: TenBerke

Photo Credit: ©Chris Cooper

Submitted by: FXCollaborative

Photo Credit: © David Sundberg/Esto; Library of Congresso

Submitted by: Executive and Preservation Architect: PBDW Architects Design Consultant: Herzog & de Meuron

Photo Credit: © Albert Vecerka/Esto; PBDW Architects, 2023; © Herzog & de Meuron

Submitted by: WXY architecture + urban design

Photo Credit: ©Albert Vecerka | Esto

Submitted by: Davis Brody Bond

Photo Credit: © Paúl Rivera; © Davis Brody Bond

Submitted by: Auver Architecture

Photo Credit: ©Eric Petschek

Submitted by: LEVENBETTS

Photo Credit: © Naho Kubotao

Submitted by: Davis Brody Bond | Kieran Timberlake

Photo Credit: © Connie Zhou/JBSA; © James Ewing/JBSA

Submitted by: TenBerke

Photo Credit: © Chris Cooper; Christopher Payne / ESTO

Submitted by: Studio Joseph

Photo Credit: © Alex Fradkin, Courtesy of Studio Joseph

Submitted by: Desai Chia Architecture

Photo Credit: © Paul Warchol

Submitted by: GKG Architects

Photo Credit: © GKG Architects/ Selemani Construction

Submitted by: Ennead Architects

Photo Credit: © ArchExist

Submitted by: BKSK Architects LLP

Photo Credit: © Christopher Payne/Esto

Submitted by: GKG Architects

Images & Drawing Credit: © GKG Architects

Submitted by: Only If

Photo Credit: © Naho Kubota; Iwan Baan

Submitted by: Ted Porter Architecture PLLC

Photo Credit: © Imagen Subliminal

Submitted by: Schiller Projects

Photo Credit: © Frank Frances Studio

Submitted by: Arch&Type

Photo Credit: © Kim Smith

Submitted by: Glickman Schlesinger Architects

Photo Credit: © Glickman Schlesinger Architects; Chris Mottalini

Submitted by: UNITEDLAB Associates/Vtrilloarquitectos

Photo Credit: © treceuve;UNITEDLAB Associates/Vtrilloarquitectos

Submitted by: MdeAS

Photo Credit: © DBOX for Vornado Realty Trust

Submitted by: GKG Architects

Photo Credit: © GKG Architects

Submitted by: Kohn Pedersen Fox (KPF)

Photo Credit: © Plomp; KPF; Southworks


Photo Credit: ©Albert Vecerka/Esto, courtesy of SWA/Balsley and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; ©SWA/Balsley and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; © David Lloyd, courtesy of SWA/Balsley and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; ©Wade Zimmerman, courtesy of SWA/Balsley and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; ©Barrett Doherty, courtesy of SWA/Balsley and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism

Back To Top