Skip to content

Celebrating Design and Professional Excellence in New York State Public Art & Architecture.

AIA New York State, in partnership with the New York State contracting agencies, created the Excelsior Awards in 2014 to provide a model of excellence for state-funded building design, landscape architecture, and public art, including professional practice and advocacy.


We’d Like to Thank Our 2023 Sponsors

2023 Excelsior Award Recipients

Submitting Firm: Mosaic Associates Architects DPC

General Contractor: LeChase Construction Services LLC

MEP Engineer: Setty & Associates

Civil Engineer & Landscape Architect: MJ Engineering & Land Surveying PC

Structural Engineer: Ryan Biggs Clark Davis

Photo Credit © Randall Perry Photography

Submitting Firm: Mitchell Giurgola

General Contractor: Minelli Construction Co., Inc.

Structural Engineer: Ysrael A. Seinuk, PC

MEP/IT Engineer: Joseph R. Loring & Associates

Site/Civil Engineer: Yu and Associates

Photo Credit © Albert Vecerka/Esto; Ashok Sinha


Submitting Firm: Mitchell Giurgola

General Contractors: Phase I, Resetarits Construction; Phase II, Savarino Companies, LLC;
Phase III, Huber Construction, Incorporated; Phase IV, Peak Construction Group, LLC

Structural Engineer: Ysrael A. Seinuk

Plumbing/Fire Protection/Site/Civil Engineer & Hazardous Material Consultant: Watts Engineering

HVAC & Electrical and Low Voltage Engineer: M/E Engineering

Photo Credit © Vanni Archive Architectural Photography

Submitting Firm: KG+D Architects, PC

Construction Manager: Savin Engineers

MEP Engineer: Gerard Associates

Structural Engineer: St. Germain & Aupperle Consulting Engineers

Civil Engineer: INSITE Engineering

Photo Credit © David Lamb Photography

Submitting Firm: Ashley McGraw Architects

General Contractor: Fahs Construction Group

MEP/Fire Protection Engineer: Phase 1: M/E Engineering, P.C.; Phase 2: Pathfinder Engineers

Structural Engineer: Ryan Biggs Clark Davis Engineering & Surveying

Landscape Architect: Trowbridge Wolf Michaels Landscape Architects

Photo Credit © Ashley McGraw Architects, © David Lamb Photography, © Revette Studio

Submitting Firm: CannonDesign

General Contractor: Consigli Construction Company

Structural Engineer: Ryan Biggs Clark Davis

Civil Engineer: MJ Engineering and Land Surveying

Landscape Architect: Supermass Studio

Photo Credit © Laura Peters,

Submitting Firm: Dattner Architects

General Contractor: Monadnock Construction

Structural Engineer: De Nardis Engineering

MEP Engineer: Skyline Engineering

Landscape Architect: Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects & Planners

Photo Credit © Pavel Bendov/ArchExplorer

Submitting Firm: CannonDesign

Mechanical and Structural Engineer & Electrical/Lighting Design: CannonDesign

Construction Manager: Turner Construction Co.

Contractor: Manning Squires Hennig

Civil, Plumbing/Fire Protection, and Hazardous Materials: Watts Architecture and Engineering

Photo Credit © Laura Peters

Submitting Firm: Bergmann

Construction Contractor: Crane Hogan

Construction Inspection: Popli Design Group

Photo Credit © Ted Liddell, RLA

2023 Professional Service Awards

The Professional Awards honor excellence in practice and advocacy of design in NYS public architecture.

Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award

The Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award recognizes licensed architects employed in the public sector in New York State whose work on projects within their jurisdiction has furthered the cause of design excellence in public architecture.

Nelson Rockefeller devoted a significant portion of his life to public service, most notably serving as the 49th Governor of the State of New York.

Henry Hobson Richardson Award

The Henry Hobson Richardson Award recognizes AIA members licensed in NYS and practicing in the private sector who have made a significant contribution to the quality of NYS public architecture and who have established a portfolio of accomplishments to that end.

One of the founding fathers of American architecture, Henry Hobson Richardson designed many significant public buildings in New York State and the United States.

Back To Top