The American Institute of Architects and New York State recognize that continuing education is crucial to advancing and improving the profession and practice of architecture. Presently, 45 states nationwide, including New York State, have mandatory continuing education requirements to practice as a registered and licensed architect. As part of this commitment, AIA New York State and our 13 local chapters provide a broad selection of programs.

Mandatory Continuing Education for Architects Practicing in New York State

The New York State Education Department, under The Board of Regents’ direction, administers professional regulation through its Office of the Professions, assisted by the State Boards for the Professions.

To renew your registration as an architect, New York State Education Law requires the completion of 36 contact hours in each three-year registration period. The hours must be logged in approved subject hours and sponsored by an approved provider.

For more information on continuing education requirements to renew your New York State registration, please click on:

Upon meeting eligibility requirements, an architect’s license is issued by the New York State Education Department. Licensure is for life unless suspended, revoked, or annulled for reasons of misconduct.

Architects must register with the Education Department and complete continuing education requirements. To practice the profession in New York State, a licensee must be “registered.”  Registration is for three years.

A continuing education course is acceptable if:
– an approved New York State sponsor offers them
– it is in an approved subject area
– if it is in an approved format.

For complete information on acceptable subject areas and sponsors, please visit

Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Requirements for Members of the American Institute of Architects

For complete information on the AIA’s continuing education system (CES) requirements, please visit

Members of the Institute must complete 18 Learning Units (LUs), 12 of which must be Health Safety and Welfare (HSW) Learning Units per year.  The remaining six do not require HSW credit.

The average AIA member has four or more state licenses, and a licensed architect must meet the continuing education requirements for all the states in which you intend to practice. Most states that require mandatory continuing education will accept AIA CES transcripts as documentation for valid continuing education credit completion. For AIA members, as a benefit, this means a single record-keeping system is the documentation needed to report your state MCE requirements when requested.

To access this valuable member service from the AIA, go to MY CES and enter your email address and password. All programs completed by an AIA CE Provider will appear on your transcript. If you have questions about the transcript, please contact AIA CES Member Care at 800-242-3837 or

You will find that many of the programs you complete for AIA membership will also comply with New York State continuing education requirements for registration renewal.

Please check with the sponsor of the program you are enrolling in or check the New York State Education Department website for clarification.

AIA Members may also use their local chapters as a resource.